Affiliated to the Campaign to Protect Rural England



 The Society was formed in 1987. At the inaugural meeting held on 22 July it was stated that the purpose of the Society would be ‘to deal solely with the problems of Bells Yew Green.  A formal constitution was adopted at the 1994 AGM.

Objects of the Society

Amongst the objects are ‘to encourage high standards of planning and architecture within the village, to promote the  preservation of  the beauty, history and character of the village, to secure the preservation, protection, development and improvement of features of historic or public interest in the village and to promote civic pride in the area.


Download the Membership Application Form

Membership is open to all who reside in the electoral district of Bells Yew Green and who are interested in furthering the purposes of the Society. The Committee also has the power to invite others who reside outside the district to become members.

Membership currently costs £5.00 per annum per household and an application form may be obtained from Lambs Larder, Bells Yew Green

Officers of the Society

Chairman:           Alexander Whittle, 20 Broomfield, Bells Yew Green, TN3 9AF, email

Vice Chairman and Treasurer     David Addey, Gambons, Mayfield Road, Frant TN3 9HS  Tel 01892 750296

Hon Secretary    Ian Palmer, 4 Stubby Grove Cottages, Bells Yew Green TN3 9BG Tel 750 559 e-mail:

Other Committee members are

Mags Beksinska, Peter Lamb, Richard Farr, Sheena Parker and David Fawcett


The Society holds about 4-6 Committee meetings a year and regularly liaises with Frant Parish Council

The Society holds an Annual General Meeting in May or June each year and other meetings when appropriate.